January 2017 Book List

Image result for public domain book imageJust to reiterate my reading goals for this year, I’m hoping to read 52 books and complete the Modern Mrs. Darcy 2017 Reading Challenge: Reading for Fun (MMD 2017 Challenge). That works out to a book a week, and is usually pretty on-target for me. This month, I managed to finish 6 books as of Jan. 27…I’m posting a little early because we are leaving on a trip and I wouldn’t want you to have to wait with BATED BREATH until the second week of February. See, I care about you fellow readers, I really do. Anyway, here’s what I read this month, some quick thoughts on each book, and what I’m planning to read/listen to on our upcoming trip.

1.) Love Warrior by Glennon Doyle Melton-read on Kindle
I really loved this book and Glennon’s story. I’ve never read her blog or followed her on social media, and I honestly hadn’t even heard of her until the media storm around her in the fall. However, I read a brief review that this book is her memoir of addiction, depression, and mental illness and it piqued my curiosity. All of those topics are near and dear to my heart, as they are for way too many people. I was impressed with how real and raw her description of spiraling into a deep depression read. I’m pretty sensitive and censor my media consumption carefully, and there were definitely some triggers in this book, but overall, I could  handle it and enjoyed it.
2.) What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast by Laura Vanderkamp-read on Kindle
Several bloggers that I follow rave about this book, and it’s a pretty quick read. I am very much not a morning person, but I really wish I were and this book had some good tips and ideas. Life changing? Not for me. Not even all that memorable. But I could see how it could provide some great strategies for some.
3.) The Happiness Project by Gretchen Ruben-Audio book
I love, love, love this book and re-read it every year or so. I especially love Gretchen Ruben’s books on audio because she reads them herself. I am a devoted listener to her podcast, Happier, and I’ve incorporated SO many of her resolutions and strategies into my daily life over the years. It is extremely practical and actionable. I highly recommend this along with her other books, Happier at Home and Better Than Before.
4.) 11/22/63 by Stephen King-hardback from library
I’ve had this checked out for a few months and never got around to reading it. I kept hearing how good it is, but I’ve never read any Stephen King and I was really nervous about it because I’m a pretty sensitive soul. I had a hard time putting this book down, and I carried it everywhere with me even though it’s HUGE-almost 900 pages. Definitely a page-turner, it is a time-travel story that centers around the Kennedy assassination. If you read it for nothing else, read it for the glimpses into daily life of 1950’s and 1960’s America.
5.) First Women by Kate Brower-hardback from library
I picked this up on a whim during a quick trip to the library on Inauguration Day. It was really interesting, and I love reading about life in the White House. It was a little repetitive in parts, and I didn’t enjoy it nearly as much as Margaret Truman’s book First Ladies, but it was still worth reading and I like that Michelle Obama was included. It piqued my interest about our former first lady, and I found I really know very little about her.
6.) Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham-Kindle
If you are a Lauren Graham fan, this book is written exactly how she, or her characters I suppose, speak. This will either be endearing and awesome, or it will drive you crazy. It drove me crazy. It was still interesting to get the behind-the-scenes peaks at Gilmore Girls and Gilmore Girls: A Year in the Life, but I’m glad this book was pretty short and quick to read. (Sorry, Lauren! I still love watching you act!)
So what’s on my list for February?
We have a long road trip coming up and Charlie and I always look forward to a good audiobook or two while the littles binge-watch Disney Nature DVD’s. When the kids get tired of DVD’s, they love a good audiobook as well.
Here’s what we are planning on listening to:
Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance for us
The Merry Adventures of Robin Hood by Howard Pyle for the kids (and us, let’s be honest)
For my personal reading, I’m hoping to read:
Everyone Brave is Forgiven by Chris Cleave
The One-in-a-Million Boy by Monica Wood
Different by Sally Clarkson
Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (book club pick for the month)
Let me know if you’re reading or have read any of these, and your thoughts!!
 Linking up with Modern Mrs. Darcy!! February Quick Lit Link Up
Image result for quotes about reading
2 thoughts on “January 2017 Book List

  1. debbie bobin says:

    I really enjoyed reading both books by Lauren Graham. I am going to look up the others you have mentioned, because we have similar interests and book LOVE!

    Like

Leave a Reply

